1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Struggling a lot with physics but not mathematics.

1. Nov 25, 2017 #1
    I'm currently in my first year of a physics program and keep finding myself enjoying mathematics more simply because it makes more sense. I understand everything the teacher goes through but when it's mechanics in particular I simply keep coming to a stop when doing practice problems. I simply find the problems in physics to be very difficult compared to what we go through in mathematics.

What should I do? I want to become better in general and I'm willing to put a lot of hours and energy if needed.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 25, 2017 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

A few of the Usual Suspects:
    1. Sometimes when people excel in on area and not in another in their first year classes is because of their high-school preparation or lack thereof. Is it possible you need to spend more time reviewing basic concepts that your professor is treating as "assumed knowledge." Did you do well in physics in high school? What's different between now and then?
    2. How much time are you putting in right now? Sometimes getting better is really just a matter of time in. Study techniques that can work in high school, such as cramming the night before the exam, or sitting down to do the homework without seriously reviewing lecture notes, don't work as well in university.
    3. Can you get more specific about things that you're struggling with? Do you understand the professor? Is the textbook the problem? A common solution to these issues is to get the basic material from the lectures and then independently read up on it with a resource that works better for you.