1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sub-forum browsing, and education choices

1. Mar 22, 2008 #1
    I sometimes glance at the EE forums, but never find anything ineresting. Maybe it's because I don't understand any of it yet?

I love the physics, mainly quantuam forum, which I browse daily, sometimes pulling up 2-3 year old threads, and reading them hours on end, momentarily forgetting about time. I don't understand most of this neither, but the idea's are still interesting.

now the question:

Am I lying to myself, fooling myself into thinking that I'm a destined electrical engineer? I really do like electronics though. From televisions, to computers, to miicrowaves, and even the electricity that power them. How it all works is very interesting to me.

I'm very torn on what to do right now. If a bachelor's degree in physics has a good job market, and just as high pay as engineer, I would certainly go for physics.

I'll be in Uni first year this year, at 25, I can finish a bachelor's by 29-30. I really don't want to go for a Ph.d, provided that I am able, and finish by 34-35. And from information I've gathered, with just a bachelor's in physics, it's tough to find a job.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 22, 2008 #2
    Tough situation. The cool thing about physics is that you pick up a bit of everything. I took 2 electronics courses through the physics department, the labs help a bit, etc.

All it comes down to is "Would you rather build things, or understand them?" As a physicist you tend to do both (at least in experimentalism), same as in engineering, but the goals are what I'm talking about. The goal of engineering is to make something, the goal of physics is to understand something.