Textbook for String Theory beginners

Main Question or Discussion Point

I am an undergraduate physics major in my last year of undergraduate study. I'm very intersted in string theory, any recommended textbooks?

Currently I found

First Course in String Theory by Barton Zwebach

Special Relativity: From Einstein to Strings by John Schwarz and Patricia Schwarz

Both seemed pretty good. I really like the first one.

Answers and Replies

I've read that Zweibach's book is the best one to begin:

http://www.ma.utexas.edu/users/stirling/index.html [Broken]

If you want to start learning String Theory then I recommend FIRST Zweibach's book. Most will guide you to Green, Schwartz, and Witten... or otherwise to Polchinski. I cannot say that I learned too much from these books except AFTER reading Zweibach, but then again I am not a string theorist (p.s. if you want to read Polchinski then you will need to learn Conformal Field Theory - there is a good review written by Ginsparg on the arxiv, and Di Francesco has an encyclopedia about CFT as well).
I'll be pedatic, but maybe you would take a look on field theory too: do you know Ramond's book?
"Field Theory: A Modern Primer", Addison/Wesley, 1981

Have fun!

ps: I can't ought to refrain converting you...
A little act to save you soul: read this! o:)
o:) http://arxiv.org/abs/hep-th/0310077

Last edited by a moderator:
selfAdjoint
Staff Emeritus
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
francesca said:
I've read that Zweibach's book is the best one to begin:

I'll be pedatic, but maybe you would take a look on field theory too: do you know Ramond's book?
"Field Theory: A Modern Primer", Addison/Wesley, 1981

Have fun!

ps: I can't ought to refrain converting you...
A little act to save you soul: read this! o:)
o:) http://arxiv.org/abs/hep-th/0310077