1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classical The Feynman Lectures for a newcomer

1. Oct 18, 2016 #1
    Hi all!

I'm a senior philosophy/economics undergrad and I'm recently finding myself very interested in physics. For several reasons, I'm not able to take physics courses in college, but I wanted to introduce myself to the "corpus" of the undergrad physics. I'm willing to invest time and have taken several math courses (up to measure theory/functional analysis) so I don't think the math would be a problem, but... I literally don't know any physics (I mean, above the highschool curriculum, which is not saying much in my country).

Can I use The Feynman Lectures for my purpose? They seem like a very well structured corpus so it seems perfect, but I've heard it requieres to have some background to really learn from it. Is that true?

Thank you in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 19, 2016 #2

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

i recommend opening the book and reading it, and making up your own mind whether one can learn from it. my opinion is, yes one can.

4. Oct 19, 2016 #3

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

I agree with mathwonk.

Another possibility are the YouTube lectures and books by Susskind, The Theoretical Minimum.

5. Oct 19, 2016 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Or in the case of the Feynman lectures, looking here: http://www.feynmanlectures.info/ (click the "Read" link in the menu at the left side).

6. Nov 22, 2016 #5
    Congratulations on wanting to learn more physics. Since you have the high intelligence required to study philosophy and mathematics, I think it's only natural you are attracted to physics.