The Feynman Lectures for a newcomer

In summary: I think the Feynman lectures are a good place to start, but also recommend supplementing with more traditional college-level material.
VincentJ
Hi all!

I'm a senior philosophy/economics undergrad and I'm recently finding myself very interested in physics. For several reasons, I'm not able to take physics courses in college, but I wanted to introduce myself to the "corpus" of the undergrad physics. I'm willing to invest time and have taken several math courses (up to measure theory/functional analysis) so I don't think the math would be a problem, but... I literally don't know any physics (I mean, above the high school curriculum, which is not saying much in my country).

Can I use The Feynman Lectures for my purpose? They seem like a very well structured corpus so it seems perfect, but I've heard it requieres to have some background to really learn from it. Is that true?

Thank you in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
i recommend opening the book and reading it, and making up your own mind whether one can learn from it. my opinion is, yes one can.

I agree with mathwonk.

Another possibility are the YouTube lectures and books by Susskind, The Theoretical Minimum.

mathwonk said:
i recommend opening the book and reading it
Or in the case of the Feynman lectures, looking here: http://www.feynmanlectures.info/ (click the "Read" link in the menu at the left side).

VincentJ said:
Hi all!

I'm a senior philosophy/economics undergrad and I'm recently finding myself very interested in physics. For several reasons, I'm not able to take physics courses in college, but I wanted to introduce myself to the "corpus" of the undergrad physics. I'm willing to invest time and have taken several math courses (up to measure theory/functional analysis) so I don't think the math would be a problem, but... I literally don't know any physics (I mean, above the high school curriculum, which is not saying much in my country).