1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theoretical Physics or Earth Physics?

1. Nov 27, 2014 #1
    Good Evening to everyone!

I'm currently a student of theoretical physics. I have a Bachelor Degree in Physics and I'm from Italy.
    When you finish your B.D. you can choose to go on with your studies in order to get a Master Degree (other 2 years of study) and here you can choose your curricula (Nuclear physics, Theoretical physics, Matter physics, Applied Physics [that means Medical physics od Physics of Complex Systems namely, here, Plasm physics], Astrophysics and Cosmology, Climate physics and Earth Physics [that also include Climate physics, but also Geophysics of Solid an liquid Earth]).

My problem is this: I started my second year of study, and I'm enrolled in theoretical physics curricula.
    It's since July that I feel a certain sense of bitter, because theoretical physics is the same old story: strings, cosmology and black holes. And don't try to say "no it isn't" because it is.

I've always loved Fluid Dynamics, Fluid physics, the application of Fluid Dynamics and Continuum Mechanics to concrete problems, and theoretical physics i guess it's not my way..
    But I'm not sure at all.

I'm going to make a change of my curricula or.. Should I? From theoretical physics to Earth Physics (Geophysics).
    I'm speaking by thinking about my future. Fluid physics has a large amount of application: climate physics, ocean physics, physics of city mobility and physics of cities climate. And in general it's applied mathematics and applied physics and I love that branch, named Mathematical Physics.

What should I do? It's clear that I want a Ph.D. so what's your idea about this? Should I stay or should I go? :D