Thermal properties of ice cream

In summary, you need to know about the thermal properties of ice cream, specifically the thermal conductivity and latent heat and the relation of it's variation with temperature. You also need to know about how the properties vary with temperature depending on the substance used.
sonu_123
i need some conceptual help for my final year project...
what are the thermal properties of ice cream?? Specifically the thermal conductivity and latent heat and the relation of it's variation with temperature...
i'll be adding a copy of my abstract for better understanding. oh and yeah I'm a mechanical engineer by the way...

Attachments

• Computer Simulation of Two Phase Processes.doc
    56 KB · Views: 736
Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm really sorry but that doesn't help me much as I've already made use of GOOGLE search and GOOGLE SCHOLAR for the values. What I have in my hand are the thermal properties at a constant temperature. I need a relation that tells me how those properties vary with temperature.

S. No Name of the Constant Value
1. Latent Heat of Fusion of Ice Cream 210.14 J/kg
2. Density 568 kg/m3
3. Specific Heat of Ice Cream at 4°C 2.948 J/kg-K
4. Specific Heat of Ice Cream at -26°C 1.629 J/kg-K
5. Thermal Conductivity of Ice Cream at 4°C .694 W/m-K
6. Thermal Conductivity of Ice Cream at -26°C .993 W/m-K

Assuming you're after fairly rough-and-ready engineering values, I'll try offering some comments:

1. The enthalpy of fusion is a rather weak function of temperature. For most engineering purposes, assuming it's temperature independent is not a bad approximation.

For the rest of the comments below, I have to assume you know how much overrun (that is, included air) you have. Commonly ice cream runs about 25-30% air by volume. I hope you won't say there isn't any, because if you did, your "ice cream" would be more like a solid block of flavorful ice.

Anyhow: