1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Thoughts/Questions - Guidance needed

1. May 26, 2008 #1
    So first of all a little background. I am a rising sophomore at Swarthmore College and I have absolutely no idea what I want to do when I grow up. I have had some free time this summer before my internship starts and have been thinking about it, so I can plan classes out for the near future.

I am really interested in international affairs and foreign policy, but don't really want to bank on making a career out of it just because it is not something to get into easily. I also am very interested in science, understanding how the world works. I love nothing more than watching a good history channel show on the universe or reading about advances in dark matter or string theory. I also figure that if I get a science degree I can go into defense and whatnot (RAND, MITRE, etc) - the other way is much harder.

So here I am sitting wondering what exactly it is like to be a scientist? I did not take physics last semester and if I want to get back on track I have to self-study mechanics over the summer and place out of it to get into e&m. I am willing to do this but I want to make sure its the right thing for me. What exactly is research in physics like? Is it enjoyable? Are physics PhDs happy with their lives?