Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Trust me I'm a Photographer -- I have a question

1. Jan 12, 2017 #1
    Ok not even sure if i am posting in the right are or not but here goes.. (Maybe a mod can move to right spot). As the title states I do Photography and I like to try all genres taking bits of knowledge along the way and incorporating it into other areas. Last year I started to do liquid art Photography which is a sub genre I guess you would call it of High-Speed. I have played with a few different things mixed with water, guar gum , xanthum gum and cornstarch as this helps to increase the viscosity of the water making it possible to capture many different shapes in the collisions etc. My question is can anyone help me with trying out some things I would never have thought of mixing with water or even something to use neat that may help me on my quest to make a better image? I have added an image to demonstrate what i am actually capturing and yes it is one of my images. :) my-drops.jpg

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 12, 2017 #2

Andrew Mason

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF Craig!

How about shooting a projectile through frozen water? We have a lot of it at the moment. Exploding super cooled water (water that is below 0°C but still liquid - see this explanation) may also give some interesting images.

AM

Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  4. Jan 12, 2017 #3
    i could most certainly give that a go!! thanks

5. Jan 12, 2017 #4

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

Have you tried things that "don't mix" with water? - things like vegetable oil that would create an emulsion.

6. Jan 12, 2017 #5
    Maybe try some liquids that aren't water at all. Mineral oils, glycerol, propylene glycol.
    Also, sugar+water is a simple syrup.

7. Jan 12, 2017 #6