Photographing Coloured Flame KCl

In summary, Tom attempted to create the "slow burn" effect seen in the video by mixing potassium chloride, a water softener, and newspaper soaked in potassium chloride. He had some success, but eventually ran into problems. He is now trying to mix the salt in methanol, soak the paper, and let it dry before burning it. He is also trying to find a source of magnesium hydroxide polycarbonate, a commonly used flame retardant, to add to the mixture.
ArtEO
Hello everyone,

I’m not a chemist at all, I studied physics which entailed a fair amount of chemistry in the learning but that was five lives ago. Nowadays I m a photographer, mostly editorial portraits but also fine arts. For my latest project I take pictures of a wide range of phenomena on very different scales, some calling for imagination, some being „cold“ descriptive.
I came across a YouTube video of someone burning a sheet of newspaper „soaked with KCl“ which then slowly burns in a stunning creeping violet flame.
I’d like very much to take closeups of this phenomenon but am very unsuccessful with my attempts so far.
I have a safe environment at hands, where I first tried to dilute KCl salt in water, soak the paper, dry it and burn it… got my regular orange flame.

I tried with alcohol (hand disinfectant) and salt again…. Same….

Please find the reference video here:

As I’m running out of ideas I wondered if someone could help me on that one. I tried to contact the person who posted the video but it’s dated 15 years ago. Thanks in advance

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Sodium is present everywhere, very difficult to avoid it. Could be what you use as KCl already contains enough to color the flame.

Two things to do: looks for a source of sodium free KCl (chemical suppliers, they always sell reagents with different purities, the purer the more expensive, I have no direct experience to tell what level of purity you need though) and use distilled water.

• Informative