Tuition fees and living cost for Uni is too expensive

• Thread starter arpeggio
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Uni
In summary, the high school student is concerned about paying for school tuition in the upcoming year. He calculates that he will need to earn $60,000 CAD in order to cover the cost. He notes that he already works during the summer months and is not sure if that will be enough. He also mentions that he may want to consider grad school.
arpeggio
Hello, I am a high school student from Canada
My parents are apparently not helping me pay my school tuition next year. I am kind of scared because I know that physics major unlike engineering or actuarial science, you need to study for a longer period. I calculated my fees for undergrad 4 years. It is approx $60,000 cnd. And plus grad school...it is going kill me. I know there is OSAP but that I need to still pay back...
I am hoping that there are ppl like me out there who can give me practical advice
Coop is not an option in the school I want to apply to ( uoft st. George)
And if I had to do coop physics In Waterloo I would rather major in something else that Waterloo is strong at

Physics news on Phys.org
Get a job? I work hard during the summer months to pay for my tuition come fall, and I begin each session by paying that year off. You may even have to get more than one job during the summer.

Is there anything you can do that you are strong in that can earn you money? Think about it a bit. I worked in construction and/or mills each summer to earn money. During college, I bought and sold and restored old guitars, amplifiers to earn more money, and worked my weekend nights playing music at frat parties to earn money. Too many really valuable guitars and tube amps have passed though my hands to recount, but there are some sad memories...

I should never have let some of them go. '59 Strat with a poor refinish job comes to mind. One of the best-sounding single-coil guitars that I have ever played.