1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tuition fees and living cost for Uni is too expensive

1. Dec 13, 2011 #1
    Hello, I am a high school student from Canada
    My parents are apparently not helping me pay my school tuition next year. I am kind of scared because I know that physics major unlike engineering or actuarial science, you need to study for a longer period. I calculated my fees for undergrad 4 years. It is approx $60,000 cnd. And plus grad school.....it is going kill me. I know there is OSAP but that I need to still pay back....
    I am hoping that there are ppl like me out there who can give me practical advice
    Coop is not an option in the school I want to apply to ( uoft st. George)
    And if I had to do coop physics In Waterloo I would rather major in something else that Waterloo is strong at

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2011 #2
    Get a job? I work hard during the summer months to pay for my tuition come fall, and I begin each session by paying that year off. You may even have to get more than one job during the summer.

4. Dec 13, 2011 #3

turbo

Gold Member

Is there anything you can do that you are strong in that can earn you money? Think about it a bit. I worked in construction and/or mills each summer to earn money. During college, I bought and sold and restored old guitars, amplifiers to earn more money, and worked my weekend nights playing music at frat parties to earn money. Too many really valuable guitars and tube amps have passed though my hands to recount, but there are some sad memories...

I should never have let some of them go. '59 Strat with a poor refinish job comes to mind. One of the best-sounding single-coil guitars that I have ever played.

5. Dec 13, 2011 #4