Uncertainty for n using calculus

In summary, the conversation is discussing the calculation of uncertainty for the variable n, which is defined as Sin((Dm + a)/2) over Sin(a/2). The speaker is unsure how to handle the sin functions and mentions being new to this type of calculation. They have already calculated the uncertainty and values for Dm and a. The other person provides a hint involving the partial derivative of a function with multiple independent variables.
Homework Statement
Hi, I need help ASAP with finding the uncertainty of n i've been trying for an hour to figure out how to tackle this question can I please have some guidance as to how to approach the question?!! Thanks in advance.
Relevant Equations
n=(Sin((Dm + a)/2))/(Sin(a/2))
i'm thinking of differentiating the inside of both sin functions but I'm not sure what to do with the sin. if anything, I'm new to this sort of uncertainty calculation. I have calculated the uncertainty and values for both Dm and a in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I believe you first have to compute ##\frac{dn}{da}## and ##\frac{dn}{d(Dm)}## via a little quotient + chain rule. Then you can take the sum of all of the ##dn##'s.

SHAWN JAMES said:
Homework Statement:: Hi, I need help ASAP with finding the uncertainty of n I've been trying for an hour to figure out how to tackle this question can I please have some guidance as to how to approach the question?! Thanks in advance.
Relevant Equations:: n=(Sin((Dm + a)/2))/(Sin(a/2))

i'm thinking of differentiating the inside of both sin functions but I'm not sure what to do with the sin. if anything, I'm new to this sort of uncertainty calculation. I have calculated the uncertainty and values for both Dm and a in advance.

Hint: $$ df = \frac {\partial f } { \partial x} dx + \frac {\partial f } {\partial y} dy ~+ ... ~$$
where f = f(x,y, ...) and x, y ... are assumed to be independent variables.

Likes etotheipi

1. What is uncertainty for n using calculus?