1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undegraduate Tips (thanks for reading!)

1. Aug 2, 2011 #1
    Hi,

I'm a raising college sophomore. I took Calc I through IV in high school and I'm on track to major in a completely different field (non-science) which I also love at a fine arts school which doesn't have a math dept.

After college, I want to get a PhD in Math. To gain admission and also because it would be very interesting, I would like to do some unpaid research for some professors at a nearby university but I'm not sure how to go about that. I've contacted one professor about research but he said he only worked for kids from his school. How could I increase my chances of getting such a position and what advice do you guys have on how to present myself in the best possible light given my background?

I can take one math class a semester as an elective for the next 3 years. What 6 classes should I select to get into a good math grad school? I'll take Linera Algebra in the Fall, but then is it better to take "core classes" like Intro to Modern Analysis and Algebra or is it better to self-study the material and register for more advanced classes which have these classes as pre-requisites?

Thanks a lot for your answers guys! I know this is super long and I appreciate your time.
    MathGeeko

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2011 #2
    Without an undergrad degree in math don't expect to get accepted to any graduate school. While this may be harsh you need to find a different school that offers a math program.

4. Aug 3, 2011 #3
    I suspect this is the case, too.

5. Aug 3, 2011 #4