Undergrad, Grad, Postdoc, Tenure Stream

In summary, there is a strong demand for Ph.D.s in math, but the chances of someone achieving that degree are not 100% certain.
Manicwhale
How many people out of the original number entering as a physics or physics/math undergrad (overall, not at any specific university) will:

1. Get their B.Sc.?
2. Get their Ph.D.?
3. Become a PostDoc, or stay in the academic stream in some way?
4. Become a professor?
5. Become a tenure stream professor?

In other words, what are the chances of reaching each stage? Feel free to add more stages if you feel they are appropriate.

Physics news on Phys.org
i have no idea. when i was a freshman math major at harvard in 1960, there were 110 roughly students in my fall honors calculus class. there were about half that many in the second semester, and i heard something like a handful finished as math majors.

i myself got a D- in 2nd semester and only returned to the fold much later. It required far more than mere smarts, everyone had that,... it took desire, dedication, persistence, and good study habits [ i mean every day], and ability to accept how many really smart people are out there, and how many of them are in math, and to accept whatever ones own place among them may turn out to be. obviously not all the high school valedictorians are going to be that in college. and all the state math champs from here to there who cannot accept being in the middle of the pack at univ, drop away. those who only want to be first, instead of learn the subject, often give up for an easier path.

this was 40+ years ago, but is similar to my elder son's experience in the 1990's at stanford. many schools today try very hard to keep more majors, but there is a strong temptation for students to major in something far easier. some of them say "i can get an A with half the work in another subject". maybe so. but...then what ?