• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Undergraduate choosing math courses

• Thread starter salad
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hey guys,

Been reading the forums for a bit, first time posting. I'm a second year math student looking to work in quantitative trading as a career. Right now I'm planning out the courses to take for my next few years, and was looking for advice. Here's what I'm thinking so far:

-Financial Engineering
-Operations Research
-Probability and Stochastic processes (required)
-Linear Algebra (required)
-Financial math
-Number theory
-Optimization

How does this look? Any advice is helpful - along with input on which courses are tough (so I can take easier electives that semester). Also, if there are any additional electives you guys think I should add, I have interests in CS (particularly Python programming) and Physics (something that deals with magnetism and/or propulsion).

Thanks!

Answers and Replies

Quantum Defect
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Hey guys,

Been reading the forums for a bit, first time posting. I'm a second year math student looking to work in quantitative trading as a career. Right now I'm planning out the courses to take for my next few years, and was looking for advice. Here's what I'm thinking so far:

-Financial Engineering
-Operations Research
-Probability and Stochastic processes (required)
-Linear Algebra (required)
-Financial math
-Number theory
-Optimization

How does this look? Any advice is helpful - along with input on which courses are tough (so I can take easier electives that semester). Also, if there are any additional electives you guys think I should add, I have interests in CS (particularly Python programming) and Physics (something that deals with magnetism and/or propulsion).

Thanks!