Undergraduate Math Course Selection Question

In summary, the individual interested in pursuing a Ph.D. in biophysics or computational physics is seeking advice on which graduate math courses to take. The suggested courses include graduate analysis, algebra, geometric/algebraic topology, complex analysis, and functional analysis. The conversation discusses the necessary prerequisites for these courses and suggests that courses in numerical analysis, probability and statistics, and computational fields may be more relevant for this individual's interests. The usefulness of functional analysis for linear algebra knowledge is also questioned. Ultimately, as someone in pure math, it is suggested that these courses may not directly apply to the individual's interests.
Vbc
Hello,

I'm a college undergraduate sophomore interested in eventually getting a Ph.D. in biophysics or computational physics. I have the chance to take several graduate math classes in the next two years, and I was wondering which ones would be the most useful for me in the future. They are
  • graduate analysis class
  • graduate algebra course
  • Geomtric/Algebraic topology (two semesters)
  • functional analysis
  • graduate complex analysis course

Physics news on Phys.org
Any more description than just the course titles? Perhaps talk with somebody who is in one of those programs to see what could be applicable.

scottdave said:
Any more description than just the course titles? Perhaps talk with somebody who is in one of those programs to see what could be applicable.

• The graduate analysis class is over Lebesgue theory of integration
  • The Algebra course covers advanced group theory, galois theory, rings, and various theorems in algebra
  • Complex Analysis: Complex numbers; analyticity/holomorphicity; Cauchy Riemann equations;line integrals; Cauchy's theorem over 0 -homologous loops; Cauchy's integral formula and its