1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergraduate Physics/Astronomy/Cosmology in Boston Area

1. May 8, 2015 #1
    School sites seem like they don't paint the full picture of a program, so I'd love some inside advice:

I am a transfer undergraduate and was wondering about:

Boston University (accepted)
    Boston College (pending)
    Brandeis (" ")
    Northeastern (" ")
    Tufts(" ")

My interests are in astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, and getting into research as soon as I can.

Has anyone worked with graduates from these schools--were they prepared?

Thanks for reading n.n

2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2015 #2
    Have you been able to visit any of these schools in person?

4. May 14, 2015 #3
    All but Tufts and BC.

5. May 16, 2015 #4
    Good choice transferring to Boston (Go Sox!). My pick of the litter here is Tufts. I grew up in Medford and the campus is beautiful. I am a senior physics student at UCSD and I have taken physics courses at Tufts during summers. The department has really great professors. Their engineering department is unbelievable, and with it comes a great physics department. I also support BU because they do a lot of research with MIT and Harvard. I would completely throw away a consideration of Northeastern with your BU acceptance. Their co-op program is great, but it isn't the most beneficial for physicists. You'd rather be in a lab with a professor than interning for a year doing who knows what.

6. May 16, 2015 #5
    Thanks for the great advice JohnPrior3 . I was really torn about Northeastern but this really helps.

7. May 16, 2015 #6