Undergraduate school prestige? (Math)

In summary, the name of your undergraduate school may not have a significant impact upon graduate admissions. However, getting involved in research and excelling at your current institution are the best ways to improve your chances.
Tickitata
Hello everyone, I've been reading this site for about a year now, but this is my first post. I've learned so much from this site!

Now, my situation. I'm currently a freshman at a third-tier school, and I just switched from Chemical Engineering to Mathematics after realizing I'm much more interested in my math courses than engineering

However, my predicament is that I picked my school because of a free ride, turning down expensive offers from "better" schools (Illinois, Georgia Tech)

How much of an impact will the name of my undergraduate school have upon graduate admissions? Although I realize it's a little to early to say, I'm very interested in a career in academia, and I want to attend a top 10 graduate school.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Also, if anyone cares, I just finished Linear Algebra and Calculus III (with A's). Next semester I'll be taking Introduction to Modern Algebra, Differential Equations, and Groups and Representations

Tickitata said:
Also, if anyone cares, I just finished Linear Algebra and Calculus III (with A's). Next semester I'll be taking Introduction to Modern Algebra, Differential Equations, and Groups and Representations

If you don't mind me asking, what school do you go to? How is their mathematics department? Is there undergraduate research offered? Can you independent study with math professors? What kind of elective are offered?