1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

US Internship Application - a question for Americans.

1. Dec 2, 2011 #1
    Hello, I'm intending to apply for an REU internship at Caltech for next summer, and I have a question that somebody American might be able to help me with.

The application is an online application which asks for your name, address, programming languages etc. It seems like the application is a sort of pre-constructed resume. Yet there's a box in it which asks for "Research Experience" and which says "you may paste your resume or other materials". Here's a link: https://nebula.ligo.caltech.edu/surf/ [Broken]

Two questions:

Firstly, what counts as relevant research experience here for a Physics internship? I did a Philosophy degree years ago which involved researching existentialism to write an undergraduate thesis - would this count as research experience? The only Physics-related experience I have is an internship I did last summer. It's not common for students in the UK to get a lot of undergrad research experience other than an internship the summer before your final year.

Secondly, what would an American student ordinarily post in that box? As a citizen of a foreign land, I'm tempted to take it literally and just write down the details of the internship I did last year. However, would it be expected that I'd post a detailed resume outlining extracurricular activities, academic prizes won, previous non-Physics-related jobs, etc., and including a covering letter? It seems like if they wanted this they'd put a section for it, but I'm not entirely sure what would be expected in the US. Thanks for any help.

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2011 #2