Using Newton's Laws - A problem involving 3 masses and an incline

In summary, the problem involves a system with an incline and three masses. The masses are connected by strings and pulleys, and the tabletop is rough with a coefficient of kinetic friction. The goal is to calculate the tension in each string and the acceleration of the system. The poster has divided the system into two individual systems and attempted to calculate the tensions and acceleration for each, but has made errors in the calculations. A new equation has been proposed that accounts for all three masses and the tension in both strings. The final result is an acceleration of 1.19 m/s^2 towards the 8.0 kg mass.
RslM
This is my first time posting. I see there is a protocol for making proper posts, so I am sorry if I make any errors.

Homework Statement

I have a problem involving a system with an incline and three masses. A picture of the system is in the attachment labeled 15.1. I am to calculate the tension in each string and the acceleration of the system.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I have an idea for solving this problem and would like to know if I'm on the correct track. I divided the system up into two individual systems seen in attachments 15.2 and 15.3. My reasoning is that I should be able to calculate the first string tension (T1) in system one and then calculate the second string tension (T2) in system two. I would then use the difference between T1 and T2 to derive a net force on the entire system. With a net force I could then calculate the acceleration of the system as a whole.

Attachments

• 15.1.jpg
    15.1.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 912
  • 15.2.jpg
    15.2.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 918
  • 15.3.jpg
    15.3.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 861
Physics news on Phys.org
RslM said:
This is my first time posting. I see there is a protocol for making proper posts, so I am sorry if I make any errors.

Homework Statement