Various Computer Degrees are extremely confusing, PLEASE advise

In summary, the conversation discusses the differences between computer engineering, computer science, and software engineering. The person is seeking advice on which field to choose, as they are interested in programming and coding but are unsure about the hardware aspect of computer engineering. They also inquire about job opportunities and salaries in each field. It is suggested to double major in software engineering and computer science or to pursue computer engineering for its flexibility and added knowledge of hardware. It is noted that once a person learns one programming language, it is easy to learn others. Ultimately, the choice depends on the university and the mandatory courses in each program.
Scofield001
Hello, I am in my first year in college and my major is COMPUTER ENGINEERING. However I just learned that computer engineering is supposed to be about hardware stuff, and I love programming and coding, so that means the software stuff. My dream job would be to work at Apple, Microsoft or Google, you know, creating programs/applications, working on new operating systems etc. I learned that what I'm looking is COMPUTER SCIENCE and I wanted to know the difference... I also noticed that there is also SOFTWARE ENGINEERING and i just don't know what the he** to choose? I love programming but I read that computer engineers are taking over the jobs of computer science, so if that's the case i would choose computer engineering and just learn that electrical stuff and hardware stuff that doesn't interest me, but I will learn it, this is my life I'm trying to create so I wouldn't mind learning that but I don't want to end up being an electrician...

What are the starting salaries and what kind of salary can I expect after a few years?

Please advise me as soon as you can as I'm on a deadline and need to make a decision soon...

Looking forward to your answer,

Best regards

Last edited: