Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vectors as a differential op and covectors as differenential

1. Jan 10, 2015 #1
    Hey,

I'm new to this , and I understand the derivation of the transition laws for overlapping regions of a manifold for covectors and vectors starting from thinking of them as a differential and a differential operator respectively, but I don't really have a clue where this comes from...

Any assistance or a point toward some good source, greatly appreciated !

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2015 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

There's a more intuitive definition of the tangent space at p that isn't used much, because it's harder to work with. By this definition, a tangent vector at p is an equivalence class of curves through p. The equivalence relation is defined using a coordinate system ##x:U\to\mathbb R^n## such that ##p\in U##. We say that two curves ##C:\mathbb R\to M## and ##B:\mathbb R\to M## such that ##C(0)=B(0)=p## are equivalent if
    $$(x\circ C)'(0)=(x\circ B)'(0).$$ It turns out that this definition is independent of the chosen coordinate system. We can then define addition and scalar multiplication on the set of equivalence classes to turn it into a vector space. And then we can prove that the tangent space defined this way is isomorphic to the already familiar tangent space at p. The isomorphism is the map ##\phi## defined by
    $$\phi([C])(f)=(f\circ C)'(0)$$ for all equivalence classes [C] and all smooth functions f.

There's more information in my posts in this thread and the one I linked to from there.