What are the chances of becoming a Math professor?

In summary, the chances of becoming a Math professor depend on several factors, including obtaining a graduate degree in mathematics, gaining experience through teaching assistant positions, and publishing research in reputable journals. Competition for tenure-track positions can be fierce, but with dedication and hard work, it is possible to achieve a successful career as a Math professor. Additionally, the demand for math professors is expected to grow in the coming years, creating more opportunities for those interested in pursuing this career path.
emlekarc
I am a college student who is thinking of getting my Masters and PhD in Math. I was considering becoming a Professor one day (I just started college so I'm going to spending 5 years Undergrad, 2 years Masters and 4-6 PhD), so I was wondering what you think the probability is of becoming a Math professor in later years?

Physics news on Phys.org
If it's anything like physics, about 1%.

One in 10 PhD's becomes a professor.
One in two people who start graduate school ultimately get a PhD.
One in three physics BS graduates go on to graduate school.
Three in five people who start college finish within 6 years.

Multiply it together and get 1%.

Likes 1 person
Vanadium 50 said:
If it's anything like physics, about 1%.

One in 10 PhD's becomes a professor.
One in two people who start graduate school ultimately get a PhD.
One in three physics BS graduates go on to graduate school.
Three in five people who start college finish within 6 years.

Multiply it together and get 1%.

I have read elsewhere that prospects for math PhDs for tenure-track positions are much better than for physics PhD, so the probability you list above is likely quite inaccurate.

Last edited: