1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Admissions What are the requirements to study theoretical physics?

1. May 7, 2016 #1
    I am a high school student (still in grade 11) I want to study theoretical physics in USA or Switzerland but I am from the middle east (Lebanon) and I want to know what I need to be accept in theoretical physics what subjects I need and please tell me the grade for each subject I need example : math 15/20 physics 16/20 ... (tell me this for all the subject they need to see ) .
    One more question when they will look to the my grades in each subject , they will only look on the grades of the last year of high school (grade 12) or they need to see it for all the years of high school (grade 9-10-11-12) ?

2. jcsd
  3. May 7, 2016 #2
    What you need to know

Generally, universities in the US and Europe will consider your native qualification and I think that for a Lebanese person these are either the Lebanon baccalaureate (Shahaadat Al-Bakaalouriya al Lubnaaniya l’il-ta ‘liim al-Thaanawi) or the Technical Baccalaureate (Al-Bakaalouriya al-Finniya).

You will need to have studied both mathematics and physics as absolute essentials. I am from the UK so I am not entirely sure about the US. My understanding is that to study in the US you won't need to have studied as in depth as to study in a country like Switzerland or in the UK.

Look at the following UK textbooks (in my opinion they are the best indication of the essential skills you need to know in mathematics and physics before going for a degree in theoretical physics):

C1, C2, C3, C4, M1, AQA AS and A2 Physics.