Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What can I make with a toaster I no longer need? (project)

1. Jul 23, 2014 #1
    So, I woke up this morning and around breakfast time I noticed the toaster, just popping out of the trash can. So i said "hey, why is the toaster in the trash can" my mom said it no longer works, and I said "maybe I can fix it, and if not, can I try to make something out of it?" she said yeah, she wants a new toaster. So... I guess it's up for project use! I don't know anything about electronics nor am I an engineer, I'm a high school student.

Any ideas? xD

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2014 #2

Evo

Staff: Mentor

Love your avatar that's a sloth?

4. Jul 23, 2014 #3
    lol yes, it's an astronaut sloth ;)

5. Jul 23, 2014 #4

reenmachine

Gold Member

you can draw a face on it and use it as a decoration

met8n3klavyeiqOosfspUTA.jpg

Yes, I'm kidding.Please don't do that.

6. Jul 23, 2014 #5

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

What kind of toaster is it?

The heating coil might be useful for something. Incubators come to mind, you could fashion one of those and even reuse most of the toaster body doing it. Well, if you keep chickens or plants it might be useful. I guess you could put models in it too, if it helps cure everything faster. Make a dehydrator maybe?

Most of the rest of the toaster would probably be scarp. Be careful opening it up.

7. Jul 23, 2014 #6

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

If you don't know anything about electronics, I would recommend not opening it. Exposed AC Mains wiring is dangerous.

8. Jul 23, 2014 #7

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yeah, don't make a sloth fryer :biggrin:.

9. Jul 24, 2014 #8

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

10. Jul 24, 2014 #9
    A made in China toaster bites the dust and will be replaced by yet another made in China toaster.