1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What concepts/subjects do I need to understand General Relativity?

1. Apr 26, 2013 #1
    I am a high school student. I looked up Special relativity and grasped it pretty easily, without needing to learn any new math. But when I tried to read about general relativity, I was immediately confused by all the math, equations and notation. My problem is that I have no idea where to begin to progressively learn about general relativity. So I would really appreciate it if you could advise me on what (mathematical) topics to look up on before I continue, and preferably in order (for example learn topic 1, then topic 2, etc). Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 26, 2013 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

What math do you already know?

4. Apr 26, 2013 #3
    You need a solid understanding of linear algebra, tensor calculus and differential equations.

5. Apr 26, 2013 #4
    I know things up to basic calculus: stuff like derivates, integrals, rotating integrals, differential equations. Trigonometry, if that counts as calculus (I live in sweden so I don't exactly know what americans consider calculus)

Just a question: do Lagrangian or Hamiltonian mechanics play a part in General Relativity?

6. Apr 26, 2013 #5

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

Learn classical mechanics and electrodynamics before you start learning the *physics* of GR. I'm only saying this because I started learning GR in junior year of high school but I can tell you now that taking a hiatus midway and solidifying the stuff I just mentioned above before jumping back in senior year paid off greatly.