1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What did i do wrong? Am i on the right track?

1. Mar 31, 2006 #1

danago

Gold Member

Hey. Heres the question i was given:

I am studying year 11 physics, and this is one of the harder questions ive had to face so far. Im going to explain my theory of whats happening as i go along. If Any of my theory is incorrect, PLEASE correct me on it. Im not only doing this to get the answer correct, but to further improve my understanding of heat.

I understand that the steam will condense, and the ice will melt, to produce a final mixture of liquid water. Before the ice and steam changes phase, they must reach 0 degrees and 100 degrees respectively.

I need to calculate the energy it takes for the ice to increase to 0 degrees, and the steam to decrease to 100 degrees, using the Q=mcT formula, and knowing that the specific heat capacity of ice is 2100, and steam is 2000.

[tex]Q_{Ice}=mc\Delta T[/tex]
    [tex]=0.22\times 2100\times 16[/tex]
    [tex]=7392J[/tex]
    Therefore, 7392J of energy is required to increase the temperature of the ice to 0 degrees.

[tex]Q_{Steam}=mc\Delta T[/tex]
    [tex]=4\times 2000\times 4[/tex]
    [tex]=32000J[/tex]
    Therefore, 32kJ of energy is required to cool the steam to 100 degrees.