What do you think about Lang Textbooks?

In summary, the conversation revolves around opinions on Lang's Complex Analysis textbook. The speaker has mixed feelings, initially hating it but then appreciating its systematic coverage of formal power series. However, they also criticize the burying of important techniques and results in examples. Others have also criticized Lang for producing too many textbooks without much care. The speaker also mentions the lack of motivation and relevant topics in the first two chapters, and compares it to another textbook that discusses complex analysis in a more thorough and clear manner. They also mention using Lang's text as a companion or reference, but not as the main source.
dreamtheater
What do people think about Lang's textbooks?

I am learning Complex Analysis for the first time from Lang. (literally the 1st time I'm seeing ANY sort of complex analysis/calculus, although I have extensive experience with real analysis).

I have gone through quite a love-hate relationship with this book. At first, I hated it with a PASSION, namely because it seemed a little too "wink-wink" look-how-clever-this-mathematics-is feel without being too systematic, formal, or elegant.

But then I fell in love with Lang's decision to systematically cover formal power series from an algebraic point-of-view before ever considering convergence.

But then I also still hate the book because it seems to bury really important techniques/results in "examples". (Even a simple remark, like "the above is important." would help.)

For those with more experience with Lang's numerous textbooks, what do you think? Lang's textbooks seem to have a specific flavor that is antithetical to the flavor of, say, Royden/Fitzpatrick or Munkres. Some have criticized Lang for churning out too many textbooks, without much care.

Just interested in what people think about Lang.

P.S. Also, any good companion textbooks for Lang's Complex Analysis?

Mathematics news on Phys.org