1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What does it take to be a distinguished physicist?

1. Dec 27, 2013 #1
    Disclaimer: ignore the word 'distinguished' in the title, what I mean is a person who is successful in their field of work.

The topic of this discussion is what it takes to be successful in the field of physics. More specifically, if you need to be born with a certain quality. For example, "a sense to math" (never FULLY understood that one), "Good with realistic subjects" (I don't live in the USA, in my country subjects are divided to humanian subjects [similar to Liberal Arts] and realistic subjects [scientific subjects]).

I like physics and the very nature of it, as of now I am in my final year of high school. I study something like "honor physics", a higher level physics, though, not university level. We studied electromagnetism, electricity, mechanics, optics and modern physics. Throughout my studies i've done well and my average is just shy of an A+. I don't understand theory immediately, maybe after I have read it again and have solved a couple of exercises. Some classmates in my group are nothing like that - They're sort of geniuses, so to speak, they understand the theory almost immediately and have no problem EXPLAINING it themselves, after maybe just one or two times of hearing the professor.