1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What else should I do with physics during my UG?

1. Feb 10, 2013 #1
    I really love physics and at the moment can't imagine not getting a PhD in it. Its my first year of UG but I came in with 38 AP credits. With this I could comfortably graduate in three years total (im only taking 13 credits this semester). However the benefits of that extra year of research and graduate courses would really make me a top candidate for graduate schools. I am already doing particle research with a fantastic professor who is really excited to continue working together/mentoring me. I guess my problem is that I WANT to be a professor but am obviously worried about how the odds are stacked against me. Thus, I feel like I should minor/major in something else in this fourth year (though id have to start taking courses much sooner). Im one course away from minoring in math so that is a give in, but my other options are major in CS or math or minor in CS. I just dont think I want to spend time away from physics to work in these other areas (though I am good at CS). But then Im worried ill be kicking myself when my "dream" job goes unrealized and I dont have too much else to offer to industry or other positions. Any advice would be REALLY appreciated. Thank you guys, i know its a long post.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2013 #2
    Why do you feel you need to minor in something? Just take grad physics courses if that's what you want to do.

4. Feb 10, 2013 #3
    Because I would "like" to have other marketable skills. Though a minor in cs may mean very little when applying for a job. Hence trying to get more info on the matter! :)

5. Feb 10, 2013 #4