Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What force is needed to overcome expansion?

1. Jun 20, 2015 #1
    As I understand it gravitationally bound objects don’t move apart with expansion. So I was wondering, assuming constant acceleration of expansion, what is the minimum gravitational force required to keep objects from moving apart?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 20, 2015 #2
    Are you talking about static universe model.

4. Jun 20, 2015 #3
    I'm not really well up on current models as I am just an interested layman. So was wondering if we assume the current Hubble constant of 70 m/s per mega parsec

5. Jun 20, 2015 #4
    Albert Einstein added a positive cosmological constant to his equations of general relativity to counteract the attractive effects of gravity on ordinary matter, which would otherwise cause a spatially finite universe to either collapse or expand forever.This is the property of static universe.If you need numbers I cant help you.

6. Jun 20, 2015 #5
    Ok, thanks for that. I was probably thinking more practically than that. I read that expansion does not apply any forces to objects. So if this was the case then it seemed that any force at all attracting / binding two objects would be enough for it to stop them receding with expansion. But that assumes a constant rate of acceleration.

7. Jun 20, 2015 #6
    In a system of objects which are gravitationally bound they will in general remain gravitationally bound and not significantly affected by cosmic scale expansion.
    I can imagine however that there could be edge cases where a very loosely bound object can become detached.
    After all, the extent of an objects gravitational field is infinite, (is it not?), - although it becomes insignificantly weak far from the object.