Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What interference pattern of double-slit experiment does mean

1. Jan 24, 2014 #1
    I have a doubt about the interference wave pattern of double slit experiment with light beam.
    does it mean the interference of electromagnetic wave (which tells about the frequency causing color) or Spatial probability wave (which was explained by Max Born).

I am not good at math. can someone please explain with math-free manner.

Last edited: Jan 24, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 24, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    There is no totally math-free manner - the short, non-math, answer is "both" - sort-of.

The distribution of photons is described using the spacial wavefunction.
    The spacial probability amplitudes and EM waves are closely related to each other - so either approach is valid.

4. Jan 24, 2014 #3
    Thanks for the information.

double slit with single photon takes long time to get accumulated and shows interference pattern. but stream of continues photons shows interference immediately. Are both different phenomenon? or how both can be related if both are same phenomenon?.

5. Jan 24, 2014 #4

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Both are the same phenomenon.
    The fact that it works for the single photon indicates that the result is not caused by EM field interference.
    Rather the EM field is an emergent phenomenon of the statistics.

On the scale of individual particles, Nature is statistical.
    Over many particles, individual effects get averaged out to give you the classical behavior.

6. Jan 24, 2014 #5
    ok. so the interference is caused by two waves regardless of intensity and time, fine.