What is the best textbook for understanding differentials?

In summary, the conversation is about a person looking for a good textbook on differentials for an upcoming course. The person is not satisfied with the recommended textbook and asks for other suggestions. A few recommendations are provided, including a Dover book, an older book by Ross, and an advanced book by Arnold. The conversation ends with the person expressing their dislike for the subject but finding enjoyment in it through the recommended books.
jhami
Hi,

I am an undergrad looking to purchase a good textbook on differentials for my course which I will be taking soon, and the textbook listed for the differentials course is this one (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1118531779/?tag=pfamazon01-20) which apparently is not very good. So can anyone recommend a good textbook on this subject which teaches the same concepts as this textbook?

Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you looking for a book for differential equations? I like this Dover book. In addition, this is a good book for a begineer. Another good book is this. Fro problems, this is a good book.

Likes l2p2l2t
Yeah, just one with all the same topics in the original textbook i posted.

An older book, would be the one by Ross. I am to lazy to look at the table of contents of your book, But Ross: Differential Equations, is a very good introduction to the subject that also has enough content for a second course. The best book on differential equations is by Arnold, but that's an advance book, and I doubt many undergraduate math majors could grasp it. The author provides proofs when they can be proved at that level. Or he gives an intuitive explanation. Also explains the methods of solutions for non-homogenous solutions, and how to derive them, instead of memorizing a chart, like many current books on ODE do.