What is this old apparatus with a coil and pulley used for in physics labs?

• Thread starter deschnell
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation revolved around an apparatus found in a physics classroom that included a coil, electrode strip, pulley, manual latch, dampening tubes, and a stack for adding weights. It was speculated that the coil may be used for PE -> KE conversion labs and an electromagnet for measuring acceleration. The conversation also touched on a non-working tesla coil in the classroom and ideas for repairing it. The participants also discussed the purpose and mechanics of the apparatus, including the use of a pulley for an Atwood machine and how the falling portion was guided into place. Overall, the conversation demonstrated the participants' curiosity and excitement for physics and experimentation.
deschnell
I'm a student teacher, practicing some physics teaching in a new classroom with old stuff in it. My teacher associate and I can't figure out exactly what this thing is.
base.jpg

top.jpg

There's a coil, with a small electrode strip coming off the top, a pulley up at the top, a manual latch up at the top to let the carriage drop down, some dampening tubes for the landing, and a stack to add weights to at the bottom of the carriage. It can be used for PE -> KE conversion type labs, but I'm not sure what the point of the coil/electricity is?? We plugged it in for fun, unfortunately there were no cool sparks or anything ( ;-) ) But the coil did buzz, and the electrode vibrated.

There's also a non-working tesla coil in the class, which I haven't taken out of the cabinet yet, and the teacher hasn't attempted to troubleshoot or fix yet - anyone with experience with these things?

Physics news on Phys.org
no ideas?