1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What kind of Research Projects can an Undergraduate do?

1. Jun 15, 2015 #1
    I am an Engineering Physics student with a concentration in Spacecraft Systems. I am more or less quite new to Physics and Engineering and have only completed introductory physics courses (class mechanics, optics, thermo, EM) and am starting Modern Physics in the fall. I have for some time really wanted to start working on a research project, but I don't know what kind of research someone as inexperienced as I am can do. My interests have been changing too much lately to say what field I want to study/do research in. I have some programming experience as well.

I have talked to some professors at my university, but none of their research feels right to me. Most of their work is in upper atmospheric physics and most of the professors are only wanting to hire seniors or grad students for assistants. I have been doing some reading about Plasma which does seem pretty interesting to me including applications such as Plasma Propulsion. I am just not sure what I could even do whether it's engineering/physics/mathematical. I know I won't be doing any ground breaking research, but I want to start getting some experience. I know C, Java, a little Matlab and I finished up to differential equations in math if that helps. Thanks for the help.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 15, 2015 #2