What makes the Navier Stokes equation so difficult?

In summary, the article discusses the math behind the Navier Stokes equations, how they are difficult to solve and whether they truly represent fluid flow. There are many assumptions that have to be met in order to obtain solutions to the equations, and they are still a challenge to solve.
Physics news on Phys.org
jedishrfu said:
An article in Quanta Magazine discusses the math behind the Navier Stokes equations, why they are so difficult to solve and whether they truly represent fluid flow:

https://www.quantamagazine.org/what-makes-the-hardest-equations-in-physics-so-difficult-20180116/
In the link, I question whether there is a typo, and it should read ## -\nabla P ## with a minus sign for the force per unit volume from a pressure gradient. In any case, a good article. ## \\ ## The Navier-Stokes equation and its solutions are rather complicated. As a graduate student, I saw one professor in a graduate course get stuck on a calculation he was attempting at the chalkboard with the Navier-Stokes equation. Technically, this professor was very astute, but on this calculation he was attempting, he was simply stuck. After 1/2 hour of struggling with it, he was totally exasperated with it. He actually told the class, "If anyone is disgusted they can leave". Everyone stayed, but the fact is, the Navier-Stokes equation is simply not a simple equation to try and solve.

The Navier Stokes equation is so hard to solve because it is non-linear. If the inertial terms were not present (either because of the geometry or because the inertial terms are negligible0, it would (and can) be much easier to solve. In turbulent flow, the inertial terms become even more problematic because the flow becomes non-time-steady, with many coupled spatial and time scales of variation. Turbulent flow continues to be a challenging issue (involving simplifying approximations) even today.

Likes Charles Link and fresh_42
jedishrfu said: