What options are there to rebuild to apply to gradschool after years off?

In summary, the individual has a bachelors degree in physics but took a two-year break due to personal issues. They have since decided to pursue a graduate program but have faced obstacles such as weak letters of recommendation and a lack of available graduate physics courses in their city. They are considering taking a graduate level course to prove their abilities and improve their chances of admission, but are also exploring other options such as internships or research opportunities to build strong recommendations. They are determined to make a good impression and are willing to put in the effort to improve their application.
badinthelatin
I got a bachelors in physics in '08 at an upper liberal arts college. Intended to take a year off but fell into a depressed rut (father died, girlfriend left, etc etc) and just worked a low-skill job / volunteered / played wow for two years.

Cleaned my act up a year ago. I'd surfed through school never having to work and never learning anything new in my classes until senior year when I took upper QM and basically got run over by a train, ending up with a C+. So I got over my intellectual-embarassment hangup that prevented me from ever asking questions and learned how to actually read a textbook rather than just find the problems. Rekindled my love affair with the subject and started studying on my own.