1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What should a chemistry undergrad do to move toward an Engineering MS

1. May 13, 2014 #1
    Hello - I am a student at the University of Richmond. I went to the university in order to get a chemistry degree to provide a solid pure science foundation for a later graduate engineering degree. I am realizing now that that might have been a mistake, as I was looking at Georgia Tech's Chemical Engineering undergraduate degree as well as their Materials Science undergraduate degree, and there would be at least 13 or 14 classes that I would not be able to take at Richmond. I am interested in Materials, Mining, Metallurgical, and Mineral, and to a certain degree Chemical Engineering, and I thought I had three years to figure out what I wanted to do in Graduate school, but now it seems a little dire. Is there anyway aside from transferring schools to not have to take, as it seems right now, a minimum of 2 years in remedial classes if I want an engineering degree of the types mentioned above in Graduate School?

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. May 13, 2014 #2
    I can only say I had the same predicament going from physics to EE. I had so many EE pre-reqs to take that a BS in EE was a better choice than an MS in EE.

Hopefully you find a better way. Talk to your adviser, the adviser for the MS program you want and your professors/classmates about it.

4. May 13, 2014 #3
    Thanks Modus. I have talked to my advisers, but I should add that Richmond is a Liberal Arts school with only Law, Buisiness, and Education Graduate degrees, and no engineering Undergrad or Grad, so I guess it would be worthwhile to email the faculty at a engineering school?

5. May 13, 2014 #4