What's more important for engineering; physics or math(s)?

In summary, if you are interested in pursuing engineering, it is important to have a strong understanding of mathematics and physics. While all four subjects (maths, further maths, physics, and chemistry) are important in engineering, the specific field you choose will determine which subject is the most important. For example, if you are interested in chemical engineering, chemistry will be the most important subject for you. However, in order to get into a good engineering school, it is crucial to have good grades in maths and physics. It is also important to focus on conceptual understanding rather than just mastering math skills. If you are struggling with physics, it is recommended to practice as much as possible and seek help from teachers or online resources
mr-tom
Hi I'm studying maths, further maths, physics and chemistry A levels and I was just wondering which of them are the most important if I take up engineering. I think I can get an A in maths and possibly further maths, but I'm struggling with our physics syllabus and predict myself a C or below. It's the subject that I enjoy the most and I really don't want to drop it for A2 but I think I may have to.
Would I be accepted to do an engineering degree with good maths results but a poor physics result?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it depends what subfield of engineering you are interested in. Of course, all three are important for any engineering specialization, but if you want to be a chemical engineer, obviously chemistry will be the most important to you.