Where are the irrational numbers?

• Thread starter smolloy
  • Start date
Rational numbers are those that can be represented as a/b.

It is simple (I think) to demonstrate that the series of rationals is continuous, since, for any two rational numbers, X=a/b, and Y=c/d, you can always find at least one rational number between them.
[tex]\frac{X+Y}{2} = \frac{ad+bc}{2bd}[/tex]
This derivation works for *any* pair of rational numbers, no matter how close, so the series of rationals is continuous.

But, doesn't this mean that there is nowhere -- no gaps -- in which we can fit irrational numbers?

Does this mean that, logically speaking, pi doesn't really exist between 3.14 and 3.15 on rational number line?

Do the irrationals exist in a completely separate series to rationals (similarly to the way in which reals and imaginary numbers are on different series)?

Perhaps I should put my copy of Russell's "Principles of Mathematics" away, and stop pretending I'm a mathematician? ;)

Answers and Replies

mathman
Science Advisor
Your "proof" is that between any 2 rationals is another rational. This still does not make a continuum.

Hmmm... I thought that that was the definition of a continuum. No?

Between *any* two rationals is another, third, rational. So between the third rational and one of the first two is yet another, fourth, rational. Etc. Ad infinitum.

gb7nash
Homework Helper
Like mathman said, just because there exists a rational number between rational numbers a and b, this doesn't mean that there's no irrational numbers between a and b. In fact, there exists an infinite number of irrational numbers between a and b.

Thanks guys.

So, between the rationals a and b, there exists an infinite number of other rationals, as well as infinity of irrationals. Two series interlaced within the series of the reals. Yes?

gb7nash
Homework Helper
Thanks guys.