Where can a degree in mechanical engineering take me?

In summary: Mechanical engineering is the most general engineering path, and as a ME myself, I would say such a degree will take you wherever you want to go.
Antonio V
Hi! I'm currently studying my mechanical engineering degree at a good uni in the UK . I've been doing really well so far, but I don't really know where I want to take it. I know the obvious places like working for a car company/aeronautical/manufacturing etc. are obviously the main option, but I'm wondering if there are also less obvious options? What are the more interesting areas I could apply for? I'm just hoping to find some work that will give the opportunity to travel and will be an interesting career path!

Physics news on Phys.org
I've been a mechanical engineer for 32 years in the automotive industry. This is a very international business as I'm sure you know, and involves every discipline of mechanical engineering. Economic downturns can make it a rough ride sometimes though. Maybe that's true everywhere. But I have found it extremely interesting because the innovation is constant, and the way we engineer keeps changing (for the better, mainly).
One good thing about mechanical engineering is the variety. I have a cousin who works for an industrial pump company, and he travels everywhere they're used (almost every country). I know some that work in machinery monitoring and diagnostics, by measuring their vibration. Another works in accident investigation and reconstruction, which I think would be fascinating.
Good luck in finding your ideal path!

Mechanical engineering is the most general engineering path, and as a ME myself, I would say such a degree will take you wherever you want to go. If you really want to travel, check out the technology side of geophysics. Gravity, IP, magnetics and seismic. Pretty cool technology, and with an ME understanding; good money, and travels all around the world.

Likes Randy Beikmann
Antonio V said: