1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which careers actively require mathematics?

1. Jun 26, 2014 #1
    Hi everyone,

I am a third-year electrical & computer engineering student trying to find out what career is best suited to my interests. In the first two years of my degree, the courses I enjoyed the most were programming, linear algebra, calculus, differential equations, complex calculus, and signals & systems. A lot of things just clicked in these classes, and they were a lot of fun. I would love to do that kind of stuff all day.

Which careers involve actively using all of that cool math? I would prefer not to have to attend graduate school.

Note that as an engineering student, I took what would be considered applied math versions of these courses (i.e. few proofs, mostly concerned with modelling electrical/computer engineering phenomena).

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Off the degree you are headed for - probably cybernetics research.
    You will need to go to grad school to meet your desires though.

4. Jun 26, 2014 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Many engineering and science careers will use one or more of the math topics you listed at some point, but it's difficult to pinpoint one field which will use all of these math topics all of the time.

Engineering undergrads are exposed to a math-heavy curriculum not so much because they will be doing math-intensive work all of the time in their careers, but to give them the tools to understand other technical subjects which they will be taking to obtain the degree.