1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Which courses to include in my resume?

1. Jan 13, 2010 #1
    I have a feeling this question has been asked before but I couldn't find it so here I go. I'm a second year ME undergrad and I'm updating my resume. I'm debating on whether I should add some of my coursework in. I am currently taking thermodynamics, matrix theory, elastic bodies, technical communications, and material science to give you an idea of where I'm at. I have also taken courses in CAD and Fortran. I have been applying for internships primarily in the aerospace/defense areas, however, I have not taken any courses specific to those areas. I am thinking I'll mention CAD and Fortran under a "computer competencies" area and leave the rest out since they don't really directly relate to anything. Your thoughts?

Also, while I'm asking about resumes, does it necessarily reflect poorly to still have high school items on my resume. I was president of my schools engineering club and we put together a project with a written proposal, CAD drawings, a presentation, etc. So I think it looks good on there, but the career services adviser at my school thinks differently. And while I'm at it, is it worth it to keep my Eagle Scout award on the resume even though it is also from high school? Again, I think it looks good on the resume.

Sorry, that ended up being kinda a lot. But thanks for your help!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2010 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor