1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which physics magazine is good for undergraduate?

1. May 23, 2007 #1

I am a physics undergraduate. May I know which physics magazine you would like to recommend to me?

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2007 #2
  4. May 24, 2007 #3
    I like Physics World http://physicsweb.org/ it seems to have more easy to read articles to give you a good overview of areas of interest for physics.

CraigD, AMInstP
  5. May 25, 2007 #4
    As Scott said, Physics Today is good. I started reading it in my senior year of high school. Some of the articles might be over your head, but you'll find something both readable and interesting.

Of course, Physics Today costs money. I'm an astrophysics grad student, so I've recently started using a website my professor recommended called Astro Ph (search for it on Google). Basically you can download astrophysics papers for free. I've never taken an astro course in my life, and I'm still able to understand the stuff pretty well. It never hurts to practice reading professional papers, and it doesn't cost you a dime, so you might check it out some time.
  6. May 26, 2007 #5
    You can also check out the Arxiv. Is has a ton of free papers in all subjects. Check out the IOP's reader for it, I think it is eprint.org.

CraigD, AMInstP
  7. May 26, 2007 #6
    Wait...you mean there's stuff on this site besides astrophysics papers? I didn't even notice that!
  8. May 26, 2007 #7
    I am a huge fan of American Scientist. Here are my reasons:

1) Broad subject matter. From physics to engineering to biology to statistics to mathematics and more.