Which SUNY schools are best for transferring to for a Ph.D in Physics?

In summary, the speaker is currently studying physics at a community college and plans on transferring to a SUNY school to save money. They are unsure if a SUNY school will be good enough for graduate school, but their professor attended SUNY and then MIT for her PhD. Stony Brook, Albany, and Buffalo are mentioned as decent options for undergraduate physics programs, with Stony Brook being the most well-known. The speaker is considering applying to Stony Brook and UAlbany, but would like to know of other good schools to apply to.
aglo6509
So I'm studying at a community college majoring in Physics. My ultimate goal is to get my Ph.D in physics (not quite sure yet in what field), but I plan on transferring to a SUNY (State University of New York) school to cut out some expensives. My question is however would a SUNY school be a good enough school for a graduate school to accept me?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes.

I don't know if it has any bearing on your situation, but my current Physics professor attended SUNY followed by MIT for her PhD.

Of the SUNY campuses, Stony Brook is the best known for physics and other physical sciences. Albany and Buffalo also have decent undergraduate physics programs, although probably not with as big a variety of research as Stony Brook.

Which Suny schools should I try and apply for after i graduate from my community college? I was thinking Stony Brook and UAlbany, what are some other good schools?

What is the process for transferring to a SUNY school?

The process for transferring to a SUNY school varies depending on the specific institution and your individual circumstances. Generally, it involves filling out an application, providing transcripts from your current college, and possibly submitting letters of recommendation. It is important to research the transfer requirements for the specific SUNY school you are interested in.