Why is Black body radiation continuous?

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between the quantized emission seen from atomic spectra and the continuous black-body radiation curve, and the process that gives rise to thermal radiation. It is explained that thermal radiation is not due to energy transitions in atoms or molecules, but rather created by collisions of atoms and molecules in a hot gas or liquid, or by vibrations of atoms in a hot solid. The concept of thermal equilibrium and the Bose-Einstein distribution for photons is also mentioned. The conversation also touches on the cosmic microwave background and how it relates to black-body radiation. It is emphasized that the black-body spectrum is continuous for all frequencies, not just those corresponding to energy levels in atoms, and that it is a result of the temperature of the object
Bradley Tafe
My name is Bradley and I am a first year university student attending Intro to Quantum mechanics lectures but didn't understand...

Why the black body radiation curve (unlike the quantized emission seen from atomic spectra), is continuous over all frequencies. I am wondering what exactly gives rise to a basically continuous black-body radiation curve in real objects? Since atomic energy states are quantized, it seems real life black-body curves would have some degree of measurable quantization to them (as themal radiation comes from electrons moving to a lower energy state).

If you could explain to me why the spectrum is continuous for all frequencies and not just the wavelengths corresponding to difference in energy levels in the atoms that emit the radiation, I would be very grateful.

Physics news on Phys.org
Bradley Tafe said:
(as themal radiation comes from electrons moving to a lower energy state).

This is where your misconception lies. Thermal radiation is not due to energy transitions in atoms or molecules.