1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Why is change in potential energy is always negative?

1. Sep 29, 2016 #1
    I'm studying relation between conservative force and potential energy,and getting a big question on change in potential energy is always negative.

For gravitational PE ,when an object is lifting up, it's work done is negative(opposite direction). so the change in work done is negative. On the other hand, when an object is falling down, it's work done is positive(same direction). And the change in work done is also positive.
    Why???
    Am i wrong in change in work done(final-initial)?
    Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2016 #2
    When an object is lifted the lifting force which is opposing gravity is upward in the same direction as increasing height therefore the work done on the object is positive. Also as the object is lifted its potential energy is increase so the difference is positive. When an object falls due to the force of gravity the work is done by gravity on the object is in the direction of decreasing height and therefore the work is negative. As the object fall its potential energy decreases.

4. Sep 29, 2016 #3
    i think you are asking 'why force is defined as negative rate of change of potential'?
    In attractive force field the potential is zero at infinity and as a body moves towards the center of the force , the body goes in bound state and bound state energy is negative - a positive energy means a free state from the field of force .

imagine an electron bound to the nucleus -the energy of electron will be negative till it is bound .