Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why the Minkowski inner product is not positive-definite?

1. Dec 9, 2013 #1
    Hi,
    I know these questions must sound ridiculous and I apologize, I'm a newbie. My textbook says that the inner product of the momentum four-vector is
    P[itex]\bullet[/itex]P=P[itex]\bullet[/itex]P - E[itex]^{2}[/itex]/c[itex]^{2}[/itex]=-m[itex]^{2}[/itex]*c[itex]^{2}[/itex]
    So my silly questions are: 1) where did the - E[itex]^{2}[/itex]/c[itex]^{2}[/itex] term come from? 2) I know I'm being a pain but what does the term 'Minkowski' mean in this context? I only have a passing familiarity with the Minkowski metric which I mentally make sense of using spacetime intervals so I'm not sure why the inner product of the momentum four-vector is being called the Minkowski inner product. 3) For the sake of intuition, what does the -m[itex]^{2}[/itex]*c[itex]^{2}[/itex] result 'mean'? (I'm particularly confused over the fact it's negative).
    Thanks for your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2013 #2
    The energy of a particle is defined as the "time-component" of the 4-momentum, vector. In non-geometrized units, that component of the 4-momentum is E/c. The -(E^2)/(c^2) term comes from multiplying out the 4-momentum with itself: p*p = -p0*p0 + p1*p1 + p2*p2 + p3*p3. Of course, p0 = E/c, so p*p = -(E/c)^2+....

The Minkowski metric refers to a flat metric of signature (1,3). The inner product of vectors in Minkowski space is defined with the Minkowski metric, that is, for any two vectors v and w, we have inner product v*w = -v0w0 + v1w1 + v2w2 + v3w3.

4. Dec 9, 2013 #3

K^2

Science Advisor