Will bad grades on Chem & Bio hurt my grad school chances?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter TechieDork
  • Start date
I'm a 2nd year physics student (Thailand) and in the freshman year I was goofing around the campus because I thought the freshman courses were easy resulting in a C+ and a B in Biology. (The exams were far more demanding than I thought) . However,I did quite well on the other courses.

-I'm now worrying that this will hurt my chance of getting into a physics grad school
-what would the admission officers think of this when I show them my transcripts?
-Are there anyways could I compensate for this?

Answers and Replies

Especially in the Biology course , I thought I understand the material well. Unaware that I need to put more works into this , I have to get nearly every technical terms right , research the unclear detail that a provided material didn't cover it well enough (and this will end up on the exam).

-I've lost 1 point for didn't know what does a logistic graph look like.

Dr. Courtney
Education Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
Depends on where you apply and the total picture of your application.

There's no point in worrying about this, you can't change your grades. All you can do is now work hard to get better grades. I often think that an observed improvement in grades is a good measure of a person rather than someone who consistently receives high grades as it shows some adjustment / development. But this is just my opinion.

Likes berkeman
WWGD
Science Advisor
Gold Member
2019 Award
Especially in the Biology course , I thought I understand the material well. Unaware that I need to put more works into this , I have to get nearly every technical terms right , research the unclear detail that a provided material didn't cover it well enough (and this will end up on the exam).

-I've lost 1 point for didn't know what does a logistic graph look like.