Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Will these courses prepare me for grad school?

1. Jul 20, 2010 #1
    Hello everyone! My school has a rather odd math major - it just so happens to perfectly suit me. I studied engineering for the first 2 years of school, as well as a little bit of CS, and all my classes fit perfectly in this major "Mathematics - Engineering/physics track." I should be able to graduate in four years with this major, which is a big bonus. Besides that, I was planning on either doing a basic applied math major or physics major, but both of these take 5 years total since I have been doing engineering.

Here's what I'll have taken in my engineering/physics math major:
    Prerequisites:
    Calc Sequence + diffeq
    Physics I-III
    Prob & stats for engineers
    Intro to discrete structures
    Computer Science I

Math Classes:
    Mathematical Modeling
    Vector & Tensor Analysis
    Appl of Complex Variables
    Applied Boundary Value Problems I and II
    Advanced Calculus I
    Linear Algebra
    Numerical Calculus

Physics/Engi Classes:
    Electricity & Magnetism I, II
    Physics Mechanics
    Thermal & Statistical Physics
    Wave Mechanics I, II
    Engineering Mechanics - Statics + Dynamics
    Solid Mechanics

So that's it. The reason I'm taking this major is because I really don't know what I want to do for grad school, but I'm hoping a URE should clear things up by senior year. If I were to dislike my physics classes, I could switch to all upper level mechanical engineering classes instead, but I doubt I would do that.