Wishing to spend 1 year self-studying physics

In summary: If you're coming in with no background in mathematics, you're going to struggle. Additionally, if you want to be a physicist you're going to need to be proficient in mathematics, because without it you're not going to be able to do any of the more advanced theoretical work.
rohanprabhu
Hi all,
I am a Computer Science graduate [or will be in 2012] and am planning to do my post graduate studies in Computer Science itself, because programming has always been my passion. At the same time, I joined physics forums during my high school years where I participated in topics related mostly to my coursework. But of all the subjects in my coursework, physics has just sort of grabbed me and I have been avidly reading physx.org, numerous articles on wikipedia, sa, ns etc. to learn more about physics and the interest lives on, even after 4 years.

All my reading which I did online has not been very organised, so it is a big question as to how much I have really learnt. So, to keep the interest alive and to really learn something properly and also to place myself in a position where I could practically consider further studies in physics, I wish to dedicate one year actually 'studying' physics.

So, here is my question to all: Given my situation, what is the best advice you can give me? I am on a shoestring budget now itself, so buying a lot of textbooks or signing up for a lot of courses is going to be very difficult [read:not impossible, though]. What, in your opinion, would be the best use of 1 year I can make to educate myself in physics?

PS: I don't know if this forum was the right place to put it, so in case it is not, mods kindly move the post to where it belongs.

Regards,
rohan

Physics news on Phys.org